A weekend suggestion

Not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I didn’t really get into football until well into my 20s. Closer to 30, really. It happened the summer I moved in with a good buddy of mine named Aaron. We were bachelors and both worked in the restaurant business, so our hours were such that most nights you could find us sitting on our patio, smoking and talking, only finally calling it a day as the sun was coming up. Good times.

Aaron was nuts for Madden football. And, since it’s much more fun playing and talking trash with a live person, it wasn’t long until he’d convinced me to pick up the Playstation controller and give it a whirl. Given I’d watched a total of two full football games in my entire life before that, it wasn’t really surprising I was awful. Game after game, he pummeled me for a solid three weeks until I slowly got better. I learned the formations, the calls, the penalties, and all the other things about the game that had, until that point, been an absolute mystery.

And then an odd thing happened: when football season rolled around and I sat down that first Sunday to watch a game I had a fantastic time. Thanks to Madden, I was now able to follow the game, the plays, even the commentary, and understand what the hell was going on. I was in bliss.

As “way leads on to way,” it wasn’t too long before I found myself muddling my way through my first fantasy football league. Each year since has been a blast (if you discount the heartache that is Donovan McNabb), but more on that later. For now, I leave you with this suggestion:

If ever you have the opportunity to join three leagues during a season, for the love of God, don’t. It’s only week two and I’m already losing my mind come Sundays. Not sure how I’m going to get through this season sane and without an eye twitch.  

photo by portorikan

Leave a Reply

