A difference in expectations, part one

I’ve heard that new parents (I qualify) often don’t understand or connect well with kids older than their own; if it’s their first. I get it. I have a niece and a nephew and they do things all the time I just can’t wrap my mind around.

Clearly, that lack of understanding is on my part. They’re both just kids being kids at an age I haven’t been up close and personal with just yet. Doubtless, once my daughter turns the corner on those ages I’m going to think, A-ha, now I get it. Wow. So that’s what this is about. But for now, I’m left sometimes scratching my head.

My nephew is a phenomenal kid named Ethan. He’s seven, a boy in every sense of the word, and aside from one challenge I’ll mention shortly, he’s the luckiest kid I know. He has two parents, a sister, and an extended family who absolutely adore him, he’s (sometimes irritatingly) incredibly bright, genuinely funny, and has a world of possibilities ahead of him.

He also has type 1 diabetes.

Next: My wife and I are good friends with another couple, J and R, who have a daughter roughly the age of our own named Sidney. She’s a sweet, loving little girl who never tires of giving kisses and hugs. And for a dad whose daughter is an Einstein at signing “all done” when I give her kisses, Sidney’s unwavering affection is a joy.

She also has down syndrome.

Next post I’ll get to the point, but for now, if you’d like to learn more about juvenile diabetesdown syndrome, or how to help, just follow the links.

One comment

Leave a Reply

