Taking a deep breath, with hopes of deeper ones to follow

So it’s in writing, posted, and any and all can hold me accountable, I say this: today is day one of not smoking. At some point I’m going to be able to say I don’t smoke – I’m a non smoker, don’t you know – but for now, I’m a hard core smoker who is working diligently at not smoking.  What’s your plan for today, Michael? Well, I’m going to spend a good amount of time this morning not smoking then really settle in this afternoon for a few more hours of not smoking. Then, this evening, I’m going to not smoke.

It’s exhausting.

Keep your fingers crossed, wish me luck, or send a prayer my way. I’m grateful for any and all assistance.

10 comments

  1. Hang in there, man.

    One thing that has helped a lot for me, and this might be kind of hard to explain so bear with me, is to shift thoughts away from the cigarettes themselves and towards the activity that helps you shut them out: changing your routine. When a craving came, I’d start to think, “hmmm, what activities or rituals can I add to my new routine that diverts me from the old one?”

  2. hey mike – its steve, long time no see. found your blog through facebook. it is very strange catching up with friends through their blogs. hope you are doing well and good luck stopping smoking!

    1. Well, well old friend. Good to hear from you! Mine is one of those blogs that just doesn’t know what it wants to be just yet. I’m a writer in a marketing department, which means the writing is pretty focused and tight, so this is a place I can just let go.
      How have you been?

  3. i wish you well on your endeavor. this february 20th it will be my 10 year anniversary since kicking the habit. maybe you could say to yourself, “if that chain smoker can quit, then so can i!”
    there were a couple of things i used to help me. everyone has to find their own “thing” but they may be right for you too.
    i visited this page and printed it out and stuck it to my monitor. i reminded myself when i felt the urge:
    http://www.lungusa.org/site/c.dvLUK9O0E/b.33568/k.CEBD/Benefits.htm

    i also had a smoking countdown or countup clock which calculated every second since i quit and it showed me how much money i was saving and how many years i was adding to my life. i tried to find the exact one i had but it’s been a long time now and many computers ago. but i’m sure you could find something similar with a google search.

    good luck michael! you can do it!!

    1. Thank you, ma’am. I’m now on day two, and so far doing okay. I’d like to kiss the guy that invented the patch…

  4. Good luck! You can totally do it. The patch is awesome too. It saved me. Also, I highly recommend grapes. I know it sounds silly but every time I wanted to smoke I would eat one and it helped.

    1. Thank you, ma’am. I’m on day three so far and doing fairly well. Grapes – what a great idea! Can’t wait to see you two next week!

Leave a Reply

