A little Wednesday humor…

You know how when you look at a word  for too long you can sometimes start questioning what were some fairly basic truths just a moment or two before? Is oboe really spelled that way? I’m sure an ‘h’ should go in there someplace. A silent one, maybe? Christ, is oboe really even a word? I do that kind of thing all the time and it drives me nuts. But, more often than not, it’s not spelling that gets me. Rather, I get hung up on grammar. Should this be a comma? How about a semicolon? Ooh, I just love a nice semicolon.

So, when double-checking whether or not I should actually use a hyphen in a given situation this morning I came across a list of proverbs. Don’t ask me how I found my way there – that’s 90% of the fun of the Internet for me – but I found this list where a teacher gave his first graders the first half of a proverb and asked them to complete it. You can find the complete list here.

A few that made me laugh:

Two is company, three is… The Musketeers 
You can lead a horse to water, but.. How?
A penny saved is… not much.

Leave a Reply

