100 books

I had an idea I thought might be both fun and smart. And while that’s fairly uncharted territory for me, I think I’m going to run with it. You see, not long ago Seth Godin published a post where, among other things, he wrote about the number one habit successful people share. The secret? 

“They read books to learn. They do it often and with joy.” 

In the years since I graduated I can count on one hand the number of books I’ve read to learn. I read a ton on the Web, I squeeze in a Steven Brust or Stephen R. Donaldson when I can, but finding the time to sink into a book that really concentrates on professional growth has proven to be a challenge.

I hope to change that.

You see, in that same post Seth also plugged a new book that just might help. It’s called The 100 Best Business Books of All Time and you can check it out here. My copy should be arriving any day now, and when it does, I’ll begin this new experiment of mine. It goes something like this:

In no particular order (as I can find them, more than likely) I’m going to read these 100 books. Then I’m going to tell you about them, so maybe you can learn a little bit as I’m doing the same. I’m hoping that by the time I get through the list I’ll have picked up at least a portion of wisdom that I can apply to my career. What do you think?

2 comments

  1. I think it is a great idea – for you — for me, it sounds boring, but then, I am not trying to learn anything – which, is my mistake, of course. You know, I like Serial Murder Mysteries. However, I am very interested in books about Germany, World War II, Russia, the Holocaust, the homes for the women during the war that were impregnated by soldiers to produce the perfect race. – Very interesting subject. I did not know anything about that until recently which surprised me because I have read so extensively about the war. Here I am rambling and its your blog. Sorry…

    1. Mom,
      Thanks for the comment. Ramble away at will – that’s part of the reason this blog even exists. Didn’t know you were a WWII buff. Let me know if you discover something else interesting.
      There’s a writer who produces an e-mail newsletter you might like. Its focus is marketing, but he’s a WWII buff, too, and will often pepper the article with obscure facts he’s discovered. His name is Denny Hatch and you can find his newsletter here.

Leave a Reply

